$0 $100
Spend $75 for free domestic shipping

Your cart is empty



Young Guv
Product Image
Product Image
Product Image
Product Image
Product Image
Product Image

Young Guv



Choose a Format:

In the spring of 2020, Ben Cook — a.k.a. Young Governor, Young Guv, or just Guv — was holed up in the New Mexico high desert, his U.S. tour having been abruptly covid-cancelled during a southwest swing. He and his bandmates were living moment to moment in something called an Earthship, a solar-rigged adobe structure sustainably constructed with, among other things, recycled bottles and tires. And out there in the serene vastness, as a short ride-it-out stint turned into a nine-month sojourn, Ben was writing music, slowly, little by little, mostly at night while the others slept. By the New Year, almost in spite of himself, he had created a new album, two new albums actually, and through the ordeal he was forever changed.

In a place he never expected to be, under circumstances no one could have predicted, and in the face of physical isolation, emotional desolation, and existential dread, Ben created GUV III & IV, a collection of songs dedicated and testifying to the eternal healing power of love — how to find it in the world, in others, and most importantly, in himself. Written in the New Mexico wilderness and produced in Los Angeles, the double album will finally be available in it’s entirety this summer via Run For Cover.

Young Guv’s talent as a songwriter has been with us for a long time. From forming iconic hardcore act No Warning in 1998 to joining Toronto legends Fucked Up, Ben Cook started writing songs as Guv in 2008 between a slew of other projects that were ambitiously working to define the genres they operated in. When he first started working with Run For Cover in 2019, the plan was to release a single record - but with too many songs to turn away, the project expanded into his first double album, GUV I & II.

GUV III & IV finds the same ambition and expertise in hit-making, but this time the individual records hone into specific parts of Guv’s sonic palette. GUV III is full of iconic hooks, power-pop guitar riffs and dancable-rock songs, while GUV IV takes notes from psych rock, electro pop and Laurel Canyon jangle to make something that as a whole, can only be defined as definitively GUV.

1. Couldn’t Leave U If I Tried
2. It’s Only Dancin’
3. Lo Lo Lonely
4. Only Wanna See U Tonight
5. Good Time Side
6. Take Up All My Time
7. But I Ain’t Got U
8. Same Old Fool
9. She Don’t Cry For Anyone
10. Scam Likely
11. April of My Life Side 
12. Too Far Gone
13. Change Your Mind
14. Sign From God
15. Overcome
16. Love Me Don’t Leave Me Side
17. Cry 2 Sleep
18. Cold In The Summer
19. Maybe I Should Luv Somebody Else
20. Helium
21. Nervous Around U
22. Nowhere At All
23. Wind In My Blood

Pressing Info:
100 Neon Magenta (Rough Trade Records Exclusive)
300 Purple, Pink & Yellow Swirl (RFC Exclusive)
500 Purple & Green Galaxy Swirl
700 Yellow

In stock and ready to ship!
Items typically ship in 5-7 business days.
You will receive tracking information as soon as your order is shipped. 
For any questions about your order, please contact us here!